US Army Corps of Engineers
St. Paul District Website

Levee Safety Program: Minnesota

Published Feb. 26, 2015
Updated: Nov. 23, 2020
USACE Levee Safety Program Logo

USACE Levee Safety Program Logo

The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Levee Safety Program was created in 2006 to assess the integrity and viability of levees and to make sure that levee systems do not present unacceptable risks to the public, property and environment.
The basic objectives of the Levee Safety Program are to develop balanced and informed assessments of levees within the program; evaluate, prioritize and justify levee safety decisions; and recommend improvements to public safety associated with levee systems. The Corps created the National Levee Database, inventoried all levees in the program and improved inspection procedures. The Corps is developing a method to manage its portfolio of levee systems and is reviewing and revising current levee-related policies and procedures.
The Levee Safety Program is composed of more than 14,000 miles of levees and includes: systems operated and maintained by the Corps; federally authorized systems locally operated and maintained and covered under the Corps Inspection of Completed Works program; and locally constructed, operated and maintained systems in the Corps Rehabilitation and Inspection program in accordance with Public Law 84‒99.
The Corps, in collaboration with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), is developing a strategy for communication of our ongoing activities and identification of the benefits, risks and flood risk management measures on levee systems in our portfolio. The Corps has completed screening level assessments to understand the risks associated with each levee system, which will be utilized to inform the communication effort. Risk communication activities will be ongoing throughout fiscal year 2020.
Levee Systems in St. Paul District Portfolio 
Federally authorized, locally operated and maintained:
Red River of the North Basin – East Grand Forks, Oslo, Alvarado, Argyle, Noyes, Duxby,  Crookston, Breckenridge, Roseau
Minnesota River Basin – Minneota, Marshall, South Bend Township, Mankato, North Mankato, Henderson, Chaska, Dawson
Mississippi River Basin – Black Bear/Miller Lake, Otsego, St. Paul, South St. Paul, Hastings, Kellogg, Winona, Rushford, Houston
Locally constructed, operated and maintained:
Red River of the North Basin – Dumont, Shelly, Hallock, St. Vincent, Hendrum, Perley, Halstad
Minnesota River Basin – Granite Falls, Carver
Mississippi River Basin – Afton, Lake St. Croix Beach, Rockford, Elba