St. Paul District Hall of Fame Inductees

Inaugural Class - 1954

Howard M. Anderly
Chief Technical Assistant

William D. Fairchild
Resident Engineer of construction at L&D 2-4

William Henning
Master and Pilot

Hibbert M. Hill
Chief of Design Branch

Harold A. Kemp
Chief of Design Branch

William Z. Lidicker
Chief of Design Branch

William A. “Cap” Thompson
Assistant Engineer


John H. Wade
Chief Administrative Assistant


Class of 1963 Class of 1965

Robert Butler
Chief of Legal Branch

Elmer J. Christenson
Assistant Chief of Engineering Division
Ralph S. Knowlton
Administrative Officer & Technical Liaison Officer
Class of 1966  Class of 1967 Class of 1968

Harry M. Markus
Chief of Construction Division

Martin E. Nelson
Chief of Hydraulic Laboratory
George E. Lyon
Chief of Engineering Division
Class of 1969 Class of 1970 Class of 1971

Leopold Arthur Hauser, Jr.
Chief of Construction-Operations Division

Roger B. Hooper
Chief of Program Development Branch
Francis E. Mullen
Assistant Chief of Engineering Division
Class of 1972 Class of 1973 Class of 1975

Allen W. Fielder
Master of the Dredge William A. Thompson

Emil Silverman
Chief of Construction Division
Richard W. Leonard
Chief of Engineering Division
Class of 1976 Class of 1978 Class of 1980

Edmund Fitzpatrick
Reservoir Manager for Headwaters Reservoirs

Henry W. Harich
Chief of Water Control
J. Robert Carlton
Chief of Planning Branch
Class of 1981 Class of 1984 Class of 1985

Roger G. Fast
Chief of Engineering

Hildegard L. Wimmer
Chief of Personnel
Sheldon Fox
Head Electronics Mechanic
Class of 1986 Class of 1987

Richard C. Lindberg
Chief of Small Purchasing Branch

Peter A. Fischer
Chief of Engineering Division
Class of 1989 Class of 1991 

Robert B. Fletcher
Chief of Design Branch

Catherine A. Smith
Chief of Examination Section

William A. Goetz
Chief of Construction-Operations Division

Class of 1992 Class of 1993 Class of 1995

Wallace J. Voss
Central Area Lockmaster

Vernon Gunderson
Master of the Dredge William A. Thompson
James E. Kursu
Chief of Programs Management Branch
Class of 1996 Class of 1997

Louis Kowalski
Deputy District Engineer for Project Management & Chief of Programs & Project Management Division

Harold E. Taggatz
Assistant Chief of Construction-Operations Division
Class of 1999 Class of 2000

David J. Haumersen
Chief of Construction-Operations Division

Robert F. Post
Chief of Engineering Division

William W. Spychalla
Project Manager & Flood Area Engineer

Class of 2001 Class of 2002 Class of 2003

Charles E. Crist
Deputy for Programs & Project Management

Charleen M. Hauger
Environmental Protection Specialist
Dennis E. Cin
Chief of Operations Technical Support Branch
Class of 2004 Class of 2005

Al Geisen
Chief of Design Branch

Mary Kay Linder
Executive Secretary
Class of 2006 Class of 2007

David C. Loss
Project Manager

Gary D. Palesh
Project Manager

John J. Bailen
Chief of Engineering & Construction Division

Class of 2008 Class of 2009

Ben A. Wopat
Assistant Chief of Operations Division

Edwin C. Bankston
District Counsel, Office of Counsel
Class of 2010 Class of 2011

Dan Krumholz
Operations Manager, Locks and Dams Project Office

Marianne Price
Chief of Equal Employment Opportunity Office

Donald L. Powell
Project Management

Class of 2012 Class of 2013

Mark W. Nelson
Chief of Real Estate Division

Randy C. Brunet
Chief of Resource Management

Lowell G. Hanson
Construction Quality Assurance Representative
Class of 2014 Class of 2015 Class of 2016
Melissa Gulan
Eastern Area Engineer
Patrick Foley
Chief, Hydraulics Section
Tim Bertschi
Manager, Recreation and Natural Resources
Class of 2017 Class of 2018 Class of 2019

Steve Adamski
Office of Counsel

Bruce Boldon
Chief of Operations
Judy DesHarnais
Deputy for Programs and Project Management