US Army Corps of Engineers
St. Paul District Website Website

Planning Assistance to States Program

Updated March 2018
Published March 14, 2016
Updated: April 8, 2020

The Planning Assistance to States (PAS) program, also known as the Section 22 program provides authority for the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers to assist states, local governments and other non-federal entities in the preparation of comprehensive plans for the development, use and conservation of water and related land resources.


The needed planning assistance is determined by the individual states and tribes. The Corps accommodates as many studies as possible within the funding allotment. Typical studies are only done at a planning level of detail. They do not include detailed design for project construction. Studies fall into two categories: comprehensive plans and technical assistance.

Types of studies currently include water supply, water conservation, water quality modeling, watershed analysis, wetland evaluations, floodplain management, dam safety/failure analysis, flood risk reduction and environmental conservation/restoration.


There are currently 12 active Planning Assistance to States studies in the St. Paul District.


  • Six Mile Creek Subwatershed Mitigation Planning Assessment.
  • Upper Mississippi River System Water Level Management Comprehensive Plan.
  • Big Sandy Lake Watershed Assessment.
  • Prioritization of Wetland Restoration Opportunities in the Yellow Medicine/Minnesota River Watershed.
  • Upper Red River Wetland Restoration Assessment and Prioritization.
  • Middle Mississippi River Wetland Restoration Assessment and Prioritization.

Minnesota and North Dakota

  • Long Term Flood Solutions Plan.

North Dakota

  • Souris Basin Study.


  • Red Cedar Basin Assessment to Improve Water Quality.
  • River Falls Hydroelectric Comprehensive Plan.
  • St. Croix Chippewa Tribal Study.
  • Vernon County Flood Risk Reduction Study.

The PAS Program was authorized by Section 22 of the Water Resources Development Act (WRDA) of 1974 (Public Law 93‒251), as amended. Section 208 of WRDA 1992 amended WRDA 1974 to include eligible Native American Indian tribes as equivalent to a state.


Projects are cost-shared 50/50 between the federal government and the non-federal sponsor. The sponsor is allowed to use work-in-kind as 100 percent of its cost share.